Tailoring surface properties using functional side groups on block copolymers

PMSE 61

Sitaraman Krishnan, sk387@cornell.edu1, Marvin Y. Paik, myp3@cornell.edu1, Christopher K. Ober, cober@ccmr.cornell.edu2, Alexander Hexemer3, Karen E. Sohn, ksohn@engineering.ucsb.edu3, Edward J. Kramer, edkramer@mrl.ucsb.edu4, Michael Häckel, Michael.Haeckel@uni-bayreuth.de5, Lothar Kador, lothar.kador@uni-bayreuth.de5, Daniela Kropp6, and Hans-Werner Schmidt, Hans-Werner.Schmidt@uni-bayreuth.de6. (1) Department of Materials Science & Engineering, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853, (2) Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853, (3) Department of Materials, University of California at Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA 93106, (4) Department of Materials and Department of Chemical Engineering, University of California at Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA 93106, (5) Physikalisches Institut, Institut für Makromolekühlforschung (BIMF), Universität Bayreuth, Universitätsstrasse 30, Bayreuth, 95440, Germany, (6) Makromolekulare Chemie I, Universität Bayreuth, Universitätsstrasse 30, Bayreuth, 95440, Germany
The control of chemical composition and molecular orientation of a surface allows the tailoring of surfaces for specific applications. We have synthesized block copolymers with selected functional side groups and studied in detail the surface structure of the polymer films. The goal of these studies was to develop responsive coatings. Block copolymers with PEGylated-fluoroalkyl, semifluorinated alkyl, quaternary pyridal and perfluoroalkyl-substituted azobenzene groups were investigated as tools for creating active surfaces. The influence of the near surface region (the top few nm of the film) on the behavior of the polymers as anti-biofouling, antibacterial and photoresponsive surfaces will be discussed.